4th Annual Royal-Thomian Sailing Regatta

The 4th Annual Royal-Thomian Sailing Regatta was held on the 30th of June and the 1st of July 2017 at the Ceylon Motor Yacht Club at the Bolgoda Lake, competing for the prestigious Ranil Dias Memorial Trophy. 

The regatta commenced on Day 1 with the individual races of the Optimist and Laser boat classes. A total of 5 races were conducted for both classes, of which the best 4 races of each participant were considered for the placements. The races commenced at 10.30 a.m. Three races were held during the morning session and the final 2 races were held after lunch. A total of 20 opti sailors were present on the water, of which 11 were Thomians, while in the laser category a total of 18 boats were present on the water of which 7 were Thomian Sailors. Our sailors performed exceptionally well in all races with Senior(C) Rehan De Silva, (VC) Kethaka Weerasuriya, Armand Flamer Caldera and Akil Ismail finishing in the top five of every race in the laser class, While Junior(C) Jordan Bolling, (VC) Zai Pestonjee and Jehan De Silva holding top spots on the overall leader board for the optis.

After an exciting first day of racing the Thomians came out strong, with the Optimists winning 44 to 101 Over the Royalists, whilst the Lasers who went into the regatta as the weaker side triumphed unimaginably over the Royalists beating them by 7 points with a score of 24 to 31.

Day 2 was all about Team Racing. As the Thomians had succeeded in winning the individual races in both classes, we only required another 2 points to be unbeaten. However, the Thomians stole the show by winning every team race except for the Laser B Team event, which gave the Thomians a final score of 9/1 victory over the Royalists. Deshevka Fernanado captaining the Thomian Opti B Team, Jordan Bolling captaining the Opti A Team and Rehan De Silva Captaining the Laser A Team, all emerged victorious in their events. They gave the spectators as well as the Chief Guest of the event Joseph Kenny, President of the Yachting Assosciation of Sri Lanka, Anil Gunawardena, Commodore of the Ceylon Motor Yacht Club, the Warden, Revd. Marc Billimoria, and Sub Warden, Mr. Asanka Perera, some intense, nail biting, top class team racing. With great performances by all the sailors of both schools the 4th Annual Royal-Thomian Sailing Regatta was conquered by the Thomians for the 4th consecutive year, with the prestigious Ranil Dias Memorial Trophy being awarded for the first time to our Alma Mater. 

Randev Jayasinha
Courtesy, STC Media Unit.