The Thomian Debating Team Emerge Champions at Stafford

The Thomian English Literary and Debating took part in the Stafford International Impromptu Debating Tournament. Our College had  three teams taking   part in the tournament held on the 13th, 14th and 15th of January. All three teams had commendable performances. The A Team emerged champions, to retain the trophy for the second consecutive year.

The three teams comprised of:

A Team – Sebastian Sansoni

Kavindra Senartna

Chetan Perera

B Team – Senal Hewage

Dulitha Ellawala

Anish Desilva

Anendajith Thuraisingham

C Team – Anuk Dharmasena

Nadhil Dias-Abeysinghe

Akilendra Gunawardhana

Rahul Silva

The initial stage of the tournament was the power matching rounds which then lead to the break rounds. The power matching rounds consist of six rounds and as the title suggests the team’s next opponent is decided on their wins and losses as well as the team’s speaker scores. At the begining of the 6th round the B Team had the most wins while the A team had the next highest wins.Thus both teams met to battle it out for the first place in break rounds .After a very close debate the B Team was able to convince two out of the three judges enabling them to beat the A Team by a two one split. The B Team broke 1st being the only team to have won all six rounds while the A team broke 4th and the C team broke 13th.

The next round of debates that took place on Sunday were the break rounds and to the teams dismay the A Team had been pitted against the C Team.  But regardless of this both teams did their absolute best and in the end the A team emerged victorious. The B team on the other hand had to face Gateway Dehiwala A and beat them to proceed to the next round. Both teams were successful in the quarter-final round as well and were looking forward to facing each other in the semi finals. The A team came to the debate ready to avenge their 6th round defeat at the hands of the B Team, while the B Team was looking to maintain their winning streak. After a fairly good debate the A team was able to win and move on to the final.

The finalist were the A Team, also known as STC A vs. Ananda A and the motion up for debate was “This house would legally permit soldiers to opt out of military missions on the basis of their consciences” . Both sides brought good cases to the house but after a long consideration of the debate four out of the five judges decided to give the debate as well as the tournament to the STC A team .

The Thomian debaters performed exceptionally in their personal speaks as well. Senal Hewage won the best speaker award. Dulitha Ellawala , Kavindra Senartna , Chetan Perera and Sebastian Sansoni came in 2nd , 3rd , 5th and 6th respectively. All in all, the Thomians delivered an outstanding performance in this tournament. The team owes their thanks to Mr. Shanil Wijesinghe the head coach, Ms. Michelle Goonetilleke the Teacher in Charge and Mr. Sharuka Wickramasighe an old boy and past captain who sacrificed his vacation in order to help the team dominate the entire tournament.

Dulitha Ellawala